Just another WordPress.com weblog

Border Country

BORDER COUNTRY

Here it comes

to take me down

takin me down with a

thunderin sound

Here she comes

with arms spread wide

callin me back from

border country

Inch by inch

step by step

shadows are runnin in both directions

cowerin down from

the echoing sounds

bringin us face to face

tighten my boots

make a run

turn to see that

my thoughts are untied

standing still in the

blazing sun

nowhere to hide in

border country

grabbin at the earth

holding on tight

wishin for my momma

and my sweethearts

delight

pull-out-a pennywhistle

let the old man dance

buying my ticket

outta border country

–Jonny Copp

Leave a Reply

